top of page

The Definitive NBA Top 25

A lot of people have been releasing NBA Top 75 lists in honor of the NBA's 75th Anniversary. And with the release of these lists comes a lot of discourse. I saw a lot of people this past weekend arguing about who should be on the official NBA 75th Anniversary team that was honored in Cleveland. I was originally going to do that, then I realized that is a ton of work and this is incredibly hard to parse through. After all, I'm just some idiot on the internet who didn't see a lot of these guys play live. If the people want, I'll release the rest of my Top-75 list at some point without the justifications for each, because that is entirely too much writing. So I'm going to provide my Top-25, since I think that is a fair number and it's enough for me to get my ridiculous takes you'll all hate out of the way. Also, if a player played in both the ABA and NBA their stats will be combined since the two leagues merged. This only really comes into play once, but it's an important disclaimer. Anyway, here is my ranking and if you hate it as much as I know you will, make sure to hit me up on Twitter (@Marker_Box) and yell at me. Let's get into it, shall we?


Allen Iverson being cool
(Photo by Ezra Shaw/Getty Images)

25. Allen Iverson


I love Allen Iverson. He was incredibly cool and had a huge impact on the NBA. He also put up 26.7 points a game as a six-foot Shooting Guard. He led the league in scoring 4 times, made 11 All-Star games, 7 All-NBA teams, won an MVP, and averaged 2.2 steals per game. Despite the steals by the way, he never made an All-Defense team which is weird. I know he wasn't a great defender but the numbers suggest he should've made at least one or two. Gonna be honest, his cool factor helped him make the 25, and I don't apologize for that. He won't be the last person to get their ranking based on something that isn't purely basketball based, so don't say I didn't warn you.


24. Bob Pettit


I typically don't have a ton of admiration for guys that played in the 50's, but Bob Pettit is a different story for some reason. He played 11 years, making All-Star and All-NBA teams in all of them, never averaged less than 20 points per game, never averaged less than 12 rebounds per game, got 2 MVPs, a ring, and deserves to be in the conversation for all-time power forwards. I don't really have a ton to say here, but I felt the need to give Pettit some love here especially because of the guy I have directly ahead of him.


23. Giannis Antetokounmpo


I'm gonna be honest, I didn't think Giannis was going to be this high on the list. This could be some bias because he's currently the best player in the NBA and just won a title, but I feel more comfortable putting him here than I thought I would. The guy just gets better and better every year. The career averages don't look as good as they should at 20.9/9.1/4.5, but if you look since the '16-17 season that jumps up to 26.8/11.0/5.5 with over a block and steal per game, 2 MVPs, a DPOY, a ring with a Finals MVP, 5 All-Stars, 5 All-NBAs, and 4 All-Defense teams. He also very well could win another MVP this year and he'll be on another All-NBA First team. I don't think he will be this low on my list for much longer, but hey it's my list and not yours.


22. Elgin Baylor


Have you ever looked at Elgin Baylor's stats? The man was insane. He slashed 27.4/13.5/4.3, made 11 All-Star Teams, 10 All-NBA teams, and won Rookie of the Year in the '58-59 season. Also, in the 1961-1962 season, he only played 48 games because he was called to active service in the Army Reserves, still averaged 38 points and 18.6 rebounds. That was while only playing games on weekends. Elgin is a legend.



John Stockton calling a play
Creator: Stephen Dunn | Credit: Getty Images

21. John Stockton


John Stockton played in all of his team's games in 17 of his 19 seasons in the NBA. While doing that, he averaged 13.1/2.7/10.5 with 2.2 steals per game. He has 3,000 more assists than anyone else, 600 more steals, and shot 38.4% from three. If he shot more than 1.5 threes per game, he would be in the conversation for a top-10 spot. But when you have a guy that scored the 2nd most points ever, you don't need to score as much. Instead, he decided to just be the best defensive point guard ever. From the '87-88 season to the '95-96 season, he averaged 13.1 assists and 2.6 steals per game. He also made 11 All-NBA teams, 10 All-Stars, and 5 All-Defense teams which seems entirely too low for the All-Time steals leader.


20. Dirk Nowitzki


Dirk was a BUCKET in his prime. The one-legged fadeaway is one of the hardest shots to guard ever, especially coming from a 7-footer who shot 38% from deep in his career. Dirk won an MVP, made 14 All-Star and 12 All-NBA appearances, and slashed 20.7/7.5/2.4 in his career. Of course his Mavs took out LeBron in the Finals, winning Finals MVP in the process, which is a major reason he is this high on the list given his struggles on the defensive side of the ball. What also helps is in his peak 11-years, he averaged 24.3 points per game and played at least 62 games in all of those years. He was durable, a great scorer, and one of the most likeable guys in the NBA.


19. Kevin Garnett


The age-old question: what matters more, scoring or defense/rebounding? When it comes to the Power-Forward position, I'll take defense and rebounding. KG was no slouch on the offensive side of the ball, averaging 17.9 points in his career with his 10 rebounds and 3.7 assists. He also averaged over a block and steal per game, won an MVP, a ring, made 15 All-Star, 12 All-Defense, and 8 All-NBA teams, and a DPOY. Also in his peak 9-years he slashed 22.4/12.6/5.0, but his career numbers dipped when he went to the Celtics because he didn't need to be the guy like he was on the Wolves. The offensive gap with Dirk isn't as big as people think, and I can't bring myself to separate them in this list.


18. David Robinson


This is one of those guys where there's a factor that went into my ranking that wasn't pure basketball skills. This time it was his nickname. The Admiral is one of the greatest nicknames in all of sports, and that it not an arguable point. Now, with a nickname like that you need to be a great player. The Admiral was a PHENOMENAL player. He missed two years for naval service, meaning he didn't enter the NBA until he was 24. Once he got to the league, he put up 21.1/10.6/2.5 with 3 blocks and 1.4 steals per game. 10 All-Stars and All-NBA teams, 8 All-Defense teams, 2 rings, 1 MVP and DPOY, and an All-Time nickname. If he came into the league at 19 instead of 24, he would probably be top 10.



Just Kobe being Kobe
Creator: Harry How | Credit: Getty Images

17. Kobe Bryant


Yes, that's right. Kobe Bryant is the 17th best player of all-time. The inspiration for me writing this article is a bit I have with my buddy Mark (yes, we're both named Mark) where every time we talk about this I knock Kobe down even more spots. It got to the point where I said he wasn't top 120 all-time. This is because Kobe Bryant is my least favorite player ever. Did I cry when he died? Of course I did, because I'm a baby and it was an absolute tragedy. I said it then and I'll say it now: "I hated Kobe Bryant because I hated when the Celtics played against him. He was the ultimate competitor, and the last person I wanted to see play against my team in a big game." You know all the accolades and numbers, and they are incredible. He was also a very good defender and that shouldn't be overlooked. At the same time, he wasn't very efficient, he held the ball too much, he wasn't a great 3-pt shooter, and he get's grossly overrated by people who watched him play. I hate Kobe more than most people hate anyone, and even I'm willing to admit he's a Top-20 player ever, mostly for his competitive edge and mentality. Kobe fans, consider me putting him here a win because if I let my ridiculous bias get in the way he wouldn't be on the list.


16. Karl Malone


2nd most points ever. I don't really wanna talk about him.


15. Moses Malone


Is there a more overlooked 3-time MVP than Moses Malone? I mean this guy had an incredible career for seemingly half the NBA, and no one talks about him. 3 MVPs, 13 All-Stars, 8 All-NBA teams, a Finals MVP, and 9 teams played for. It just doesn't make sense. Also, he averaged 20.3/12.3/1.3 in his 21-year career. This guy was one heck of a player and it's time he gets the recognition he deserves.


14. Steph Curry


Cold take alert: Steph Curry is the best shooter of all time. There, I said it. Twist my arm. But seriously, how good is this guy? The entire world wrote him off because of the injury and he just went out and scored 32 points a game on 42.1% from three last season. The guy is an assassin. Career averages of 24.2/4.6/6.5 may not look too flashy, but when you shoot 43.3% from deep on 8.6 3PA for your career, that gets a lot flashier. Steph was also kinda a late bloomer, since he didn't make an All-Star game until 2014, his age 25 season. The career averages are more impressive since then, going up to 26.8/4.9/6.8 with 42.9% behind the arc on over 10 shots a game. 3 rings, 2 Regular Season MVPs, and he's now the all-time leader in three pointers made. I know he's had his ups and downs this year, but that doesn't take away from the fact that Steph is the greatest shooter this game has ever seen.



Dr. J Being the Coolest Man Ever
Copyright: (c) Wickedgood | Dreamstime.com

13. Julius Erving


I'm gonna be honest, cool factor definitely contributed to Dr. J being in this spot. He was an incredible player and I'll get into that, but man he just eats breathes and sleeps cool. The fro, the dunks, the ABA ball (which is MUCH cooler than the NBA ball, just saying), everything about him. As mentioned earlier, I'm counting the ABA as the NBA for simplicity's sake, and the Doctor really cooked in the ABA. While his career averages came out to 24.2/8.5/4.2, he averaged 28.7/12.1/4.8 with over 2 blocks and 2 steals in the ABA. Throw in 3 combined titles, 4 MVPs, 13 All-NBA/ABA teams, and 16 All-Star games, you've got an all-timer. And the coolest all-timer there ever was or will be.


12. Kevin Durant


Hot take alert: Kevin Durant is the best scorer in the history of the NBA. Now, this shouldn't be a hot take, but people think it is for some reason so that's on them. KD is currently the second best player in the NBA, and when healthy is always top 3. He's averaged 27.0/7.1/4.2 with 49.4/38.4/88.3% shooting splits in his career. 4 scoring titles, 9 All-NBA teams, 2 rings and Finals MVP in both, to go along with Rookie of the Year and MVP honors as well. As great as the offensive numbers are, The Slim Reaper is also a very underrated defender, averaging over a block and steal per game in 13 years thus far. Save your takes about him going to Golden State, it happened, he won 2 Finals MVPs, and there's no changing the past. Just treat him how he deserves to be treated: like the greatest scorer in the history of the sport.


11. Oscar Robertson


Before Russell Westbrook, there was the Big O. Oscar averaged 25.7/7.5/9.5 in 14 years, racking up 12 All-Star appearances, 11 All-NBA teams, a Rookie of the Year, and a ring in 1971. His career highlight of course came much earlier in the 1961-62 season, when he slashed 30.8/12.5/11.4 becoming the first player to average a triple-double. Now, triple-doubles have kinda lost their luster of late because Russ just keeps doing it, but in 1962 and now averaging one for a full season is amazing.


Shaq Blocking out a Player
Creator: Lisa Blumenfeld | Credit: Getty Images

10. Shaquille 0'Neal


Man, I love Shaq. I loved him as a player and I love him as a broadcaster/advertiser extraordinaire. One of the most dominant forces the NBA has ever seen, The Big Aristotle won 3 Finals MVPs, 4 rings, a regular season MVP, made 14 All-NBA teams, and averaged 23.7/10.9/2.5 with 2.3 blocks. I really debated who would go in this spot, but I decided to have Shaq here and this guy number 9...


9. Hakeem Olajuwon


The Dream. Man, what a player. I feel he usually goes somewhat underrated just because of the era he played in and who he played against but Hakeem was that dude. 21.8/11.1/2.5 in his career to go with 3.1 blocks and 1.7 steals per game. Pretty good, no? The Dream won 2 DPOYs and honestly should have like 7. He also immediately took over for Mike when he retired, winning back-to-back Chips and won Finals MVP in both. 12 All-NBA appearances and 9 All-Defense teams are the icing on the cake.


8. Tim Duncan


Tim Duncan was the human embodiment of boring. 15 footers off the glass, when he blocked a shot he didn't send it into the 3rd row, and he never showed off a flashy dunking ability. I love Tim Duncan for all these reasons. He showed up, did his job, and left. He did that for 19 years to the tune of 19.0/10.8/3.0 while also blocking over 2 shots a game. 15 All-NBA, All-Star, and All-Defense appearances, 5 rings, 3 Finals MVPs, 2 regular season MVPs, Rookie of the Year, and the best power forward ever. Boring paragraph for a boring player.


7. Bill Russell


Need I say more? He's Bill freaking Russell. He won 11 rings, a feat that will never be matched. He was an incredible defender, he averaged 22.5 rebounds per game in his career, would probably be the All-Time blocks leader if that was a stat when he played, and is one of the greatest ambassadors the game has ever seen. Also he won the 1961-62 MVP in a wild season.


6. Wilt Chamberlain


It pains me to put Wilt the Stilt above Bill Russell, it really does. But, he was a much better scorer, somehow a better rebounder averaging 22.9, averaged over 8 assists one year just because he felt like it, and was so incredibly cool it hurts. In the 1961-1962 NBA season, Wilt averaged 50.4 points and 25.7 rebounds. By the way, how crazy was that '61-62 season? Elgin averaging 38 points only on weekends, Big O averaging a triple double, and Wilt averaging 50 points a game, and they all lost the MVP to Bill Russell. Nuts. I feel like I don't need to say anything more than that but I will. He scored 100 points in a game. ONE HUNDRED.


5. Magic Johnson


I want to make this very clear, as a player I like John Stockton more than Magic. Stockton is the best defensive PG of all-time and has 3,000 more assists than anybody else. But, Magic is a 3-time MVP, a 5-time champ, and has 3 Finals MVP's (even though Kareem should've won in 1980, but that's a topic for a different day). Magic was a true Unicorn, a 6'9" point guard who played the position the way it was traditionally played, being the primary ball-handler and distributor to a couple guys named James Worthy and Kareem Abdul-Jabbar. He AVERAGED 11.2 assists per game in his career to go with 19.5 points and 7.2 rebounds, along with leading the league in steals per game twice. If tweeting ability was part of my criteria for this list, he would probably be higher. Please follow this man if you don't already, you won't be disappointed.


4. Larry Bird


"Okay Mr. Celtics fan, this HAS to be a biased pick, right?" No, it isn't. Larry was better than Magic. You can point to Magic's passing ability, and I'll raise you Larry Legend's. Just watch the video I link at the end of this paragraph and you'll agree with me. Larry Bird might've been the best passer of all-time. Did Magic average more assists? Of course, he was a Point Guard. Was he a better all around player than Larry Bird? Absolutely not. Bird made 3 All-Defense teams to Magic's 0, won Rookie of the Year over Magic in '79-80, same amount of All-NBA and All-Star teams, same amount of MVP's, and put up a career slash of 24.3/10.0/6.3. That's right, over 6 assists for his career. He was also a lights-out shooter, incredibly clutch, and the best trash-talker EVER. He was LeBron before LeBron, except a better rebounder and defender. Put some respect on Larry Bird's name.


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=baBdnA7cui0


3. LeBron James


I'm going to be honest, I hate LeBron James. Not as much as I hated Kobe, but pretty close. And you might think that's why I have him number 3 and not 2 or 1, but it's not. If I let my own personal bias influence this decision, he would be like number 10, just like Kobe would've been off the list. But that would've been incredibly unfair to one of the greatest players to ever live. LeBron has averaged 27.0/7.4/7.4 in his career, which is one of the crazier slash lines you'll see. 17 All-NBA teams, 17 All-Stars, 6 All-Defense teams (Wait, how?), 4 rings, Finals MVP in all of them, and 4 MVPs. Just a marvelous NBA career. He's been to 10 Finals, which is incredible (more on that later). Even typing that I feel like an idiot for saying this guy isn't the GOAT. But He just hasn't passed the next two guys in my opinion, and I don't think he will. I think this Top-3 is pretty set in stone, and I don't see it changing unless guys like Giannis and KD age like LeBron did, which I don't see happening.


2. Michael Jordan


Not the name you expected to see, huh? Listen, Mike is a legend and always will be. He did it all. He averaged over 30 points, he played great defense, he won the rings, he won the MVPs, he made the All-NBA teams. Everyone knows everything this man ever did. And there is absolutely no shame in having some 22-year-old call him the 2nd best player ever. And I'm going to be honest, if he didn't "retire" twice in his career only to come back anyway, I might have him number one. I'm not holding that against him personally because he did it for his own mental health and he should absolutely take care of that before basketball. But if he wins another chip or two and adds to his counting stats, he's probably first on this list. But there is one guy who I think was better than His Airness and his name is...


1. Kareem Abdul-Jabbar


Yes, I know you're yelling at your computer/phone right now. "KAREEM OVER MJ AND LEBRON??? THIS GUY STINKS!" Let me defend my pick. Kareem averaged 24.6/11.2/3.6 with 2.6 blocks per game. In 20 years he made 19 All-Star teams, 15 All-NBA teams, 11 All-Defense teams, won 6 rings, 2 Finals MVPs (Should've been 3), 6 MVPs, Rookie of the Year, is 1st All-Time in points, and 3rd All-Time in Rebounds and Blocks. He may have won the same amount of rings as MJ, but he made it to 10 and that isn't talked about enough. People love to throw out MJ's perfect Finals record, but making it to 10 in 20 years is an incredible achievement. Now, why isn't Kareem ever mentioned in the GOAT argument? I think I know why. Kareem played his prime in an era where NBA coverage was much different than it was even in the end of his career. There was no GOAT argument, people didn't care. Once MJ came along, everything changed, and the media coverage went up exponentially. Not just of MJ, but the sport as a whole. Now, that could be used in Jordan's favor, but I personally think it hurts Kareem more than it helps Mike. There's also this weird stigma against big men because people think the game is easier when you're that tall. There is a point to be had there, but will Tacko Fall go down as one of the all-time greats? I doubt it. Kareem had the most un-guardable shot we've ever seen in the Skyhook, and it was a huge factor in him scoring 38,387 points. Will LeBron pass that number? Maybe. Will LeBron ever be better than Kareem in my eyes? No. Kareem transcended the sport and sports in general, he was and still is a once in a century type of player and person and in my opinion, is the greatest player to ever play in the NBA. And none of that mentioned his unmatched college career at UCLA, which might be even more impressive than what he did in the NBA.


Honorable Mentions


Charles Barkley, Carmelo Anthony, John Havlicek, Isiah Thomas, Dwayne Wade, Steve Nash, Patrick Ewing. I feel like these are all pretty self-explanatory. I will defend the Melo pick though. Some other outlets had him outside of the Top-50, which is ridiculous for a guy that is 10th All-Time in scoring in the history of the league. I know he doesn't pass or defend, but he was a solid rebounder in his prime and was a great pure scorer. He's still a bucket, and I will defend him until the day I die. Go Orange.


Dishonorable Mention


Jerry West. This is pure spite and hatred, and the fact I think he's got nothing for today's NBA. I don't care that he's the logo, I don't care what the numbers look like, and I don't care what the highlights look like. Jerry West stinks and I know people will be mad but I couldn't care less.


Wrapping It Up


So this is my NBA Top-25. Hot takes were made, people are mad, and my conscious is clear. Like I said, I'm just some idiot on the internet posting my NBA takes, and if you disagree feel free to interact with me on Twitter @Marker_Box. Kareem is the GOAT, Kobe isn't Top-15, and Jerry West stinks. Those are my feelings and I'm sticking to them, so I'll argue about them until the cows come home.

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
bottom of page