top of page

The Rebound: On and Off the Court With Sean Dadey


(Photo Credit: Insta:@KPMcclave)


Three sectional and two state championships in four years, is considered an extremely difficult task to complete as a high school basketball player. Sean Dadey, of Westhill High school was able to accomplish this. Though he was not on the roster until the post season of his freshman year on the team, he was a starter and a key contributor from his sophomore year to the time he graduated. In Sean’s junior year, he led the Westhill Warriors past the sectional championship, ultimately winning the state championship. As this was his second state championship, he was not yet satisfied and there was still more to accomplish. In Sean’s senior season, he completed many goals he had set out for himself. He led his team to a third sectional championship in four years and was also named to the all state first team, while also being Central New York Small School Player of the Year.


During Sean’s senior year, he made a decision he would be playing basketball that next year at the College of Saint Rose, a Division 2 program in Albany, New York. Sean had stated that he chose Saint Rose for many reasons. The Northeast 10 conference was an extremely competitive and talented conference, which was a big reason he decided to commit there. He said, “their history of success along with former and current professional basketball and NBA players graduating from there drew my attention out of high school. Combined with a chance for me to come in and play right away (without the injuries) and to get a degree... I knew Saint Rose was a great spot.”


Dadey’s high school teammate John Geer was alongside for most of Sean’s career at Westhill. Geer spoke highly when asked about Sean as a teammate, Geer said “Sean brought some pretty special talent on the court, but what he produced off the court was the biggest factor. Sean is an extremely humble person and he always made sure that everyone on the team stayed humble as well.” John was a part of Westhill's two sectional championships in 2017 & 18, which included their state championship in 2017.


Sean’s senior season wasn’t all he expected it to be though. In a mid season game against Chittenango, he suffered an injury to his shoulder. This injury sidelined him for a few games but he managed to make his way back into play. This injury was diagnosed as a torn labrum. Though he was able to play through it, the injury was always a factor in his play. In the offseason, Dadey had surgery on his shoulder which sidelined him for his freshman year at the College of Saint Rose. Sean went through rigorous physical therapy in hopes of returning to play in early 2019. In Sean’s first practice back, he suffered a major injury to his knee, which was later ruled as a torn ACL and meniscus. He would then be sidelined for his sophomore season of play at Saint Rose. Following this injury he questioned his future in basketball. “ I had so many emotions running through my mind. Was my basketball career over? Should I pursue something other than basketball” Dadey questioned. What was it going to take to take for Sean to make his way back on the court: Dedication and perseverance. He was not going to give up a career he had been working on since he was a little boy. Dadey said “I definitely had my doubts, but the way I was raised and brought up didn’t allow me to quit. I knew I loved the game of basketball and I was not going to allow this setback to dismantle my entire career. I had come too far, worked too hard, and had too many people look up to me for me to just quit.” He used this journey to learn more about himself physically and mentally.


When asked about Sean’s perseverance and how he was able to lead his team to the sectional championship despite being injured throughout the season, Coach Kevin King of Westhill High School said, “the injuries caused him to miss games and he was often limited in what he could do in practices the last 6 weeks of the season. However he never complained, and although he was never really 100 percent all season, he still led us to a sectional title.” He admired how dedicated Sean was to the team and to improving as a basketball player. He said, “for the 3 years he was a varsity player, Sean would meet me at the high school during the off season to work on skills and use the school's shooting machine. Sean also did extensive off season work with his uncle who is a former college coach.” It was clear, Dadey was always looking to improve his craft.


Seans Injury timeline:


December 2017, torn labrum in left shoulder(played through season)


August 2018, surgery to repair torn labrum in shoulder


January 2019 Torn ACL and meniscus in left knee (had surgery a month later)


March 2020 surgery to repair another tear in meniscus on left knee


When asked of his current state of physical health, Sean said “at this point in my career I am thankfully fully healthy. It’s crazy to think the last time I played a full season with no injuries was my junior year of high school, when we had a 26-2 record and a NYS championship. I’m extremely excited to get back to playing the game that has brought me so much.” Though his 2021 season was shortened due to the corona virus delaying Saint Rose’s season, Sean was able to play in all seven games for the Golden Knights. In his 2021 campaign, Dadey averaged 5.1 points per game while shooting an excellent 50% from the field and 40% from behind the three point arch.


Basketball has been and will always be an important part of Sean’s life. “My inspiration was always knowing that I wanted to be the best possible version of myself, that goes for all areas of my life which is why my work ethic is so high. For basketball specifically, I grew up in a basketball family and watched great players ahead of me that I always wanted to be as good as, and if not better than.” Sean’s sister Catherine Dadey is a standout basketball player at Westhill High School. She recently wrapped up her junior season, averaging 14.3 points per game in nine games played. Though his mother Kelly did not play basketball in high school, his father Sean and two uncles were basketball players for Bishop Ludden. Basketball was “instilled” in his blood.


Sean doesn’t just want to be remembered for his time on the court but would also like to be remembered for how he inspired kids that he mentored and coached through the Westhill program. Dadey said, “I want to be the person who inspired young kids to never give up on their dream, no matter what adversity is in their way. Not only in sports but life in general.” These past few years have had its ups and downs for Sean, from injury to deaths. He said “I always tell myself this line whenever I start to feel discouraged and it applies to all aspects of life. An injury, a death of a loved one, a missed job opportunity, whatever it may be. “Adversity is preparation for greatness.” With that mindset anything is possible.”


Following speaking to Sean, he began to reminisce on his time at Westhill and into his college career. He said “I haven’t really put all of this into perspective like this before, so it’s pretty eye opening to even look at how far I have come when I put it in writing.”



498 views0 comments
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
bottom of page